With the growing Coronavirus/COVID-19 pandemic, Action for Healthy Communities is committed to ensuring the health, safety and well-being of our clients, staff, volunteers, families and community partners remains our top priority, however, our office will be open and designated staff will be providing support to our clients through telephone and online resources. (Please contact the designated person mentioned below for any support via phone or email).

We continue to closely monitor new developments daily in accordance with Government protocols.

As of Tuesday, March 17, 2020, Alberta has declared a state of emergency. Up-to-date information can be found here.

The following measures have been implemented to ensure the safety of all, including:

  • Modified Office Hours: Effective immediately AHC will modify its office hours from Monday-Friday 9 am-5 pm. We will remain closed on Saturdays until further notice.
  • Cancellation of all Group Activities: In accordance with the Government protocols- Effective immediately AHC has cancelled the following programs/activities until further notice:
    • Healthy Active Community Kids Program
    • Youth Spring Break Camp (March 23-27, 2020)
    • Youth Talk Club
    • The Learning Table
    • Empowering Black Girls Program
    • Learning English for Daily Living (English Conversation Circle)
    • Entrepreneurship Supports Program
    • Job Club

  • Tax Clinics: Bookings for this week’s tax clinic at the AHC office and offsite locations (C5 Hub, St. Francis, One World One Centre and Rahma Mosque) are cancelled until further notice.
  • Closure of the Community Resource Centre: The AHC resource room will remain closed until further notice. 
  • Posters and general information outlining symptoms and travel precautions have been displayed in several areas throughout the office, including doors, bulletin boards, and other high traffic areas.
  • Staff protocols have been updated with important information about identifying potential symptoms, frequent handwashing, social distancing, and appropriate protocols to assist clients who may be at risk. Antibacterial wipes and hand sanitizer has been made accessible to all staff on every floor.
  • Close monitoring of local public health officials and updating our guidelines and protocols in accordance with the Government protocols.

The following staff will be accessible via phone and email in order to assist clients during this time:

Settlement & Integration Program – Suraj Khatiwada – (780) 293-6859 – suraj.khatiwada@a4hc.ca

Employment Program– Andrea Streisel – (780) 235-3627 – andrea.streisel@a4hc.ca

Newcomer Youth and Empowerment Program – Mustafa Zahid (780) 991-7240 – mustafa.zahid@a4hc.ca

Healthy Active Community Kids Program  – Nadine Moore – (587) 357-5939 – nadine.moore@a4hc.ca

Adult Literacy & Skills Development (English and Computer Classes) – Yanyu Zhou (780) 691-4036 – yanyu.zhou@a4hc.ca

Entrepreneurship Supports Program – Abdoulaye Barry (587) 337-8441 – abdoulaye.barry@a4hc.ca

For the Alberta Health Services guidelines/proactive measures on COVID-19 visit the following link: https://www.alberta.ca/coronavirus-info-for-albertans.aspx

If you are experiencing symptoms (fever, cough, shortness of breath) remain in self-isolation and call 8-1-1 (Healthlink) for assistance.
Stay up-to-date on Canada Public Health’s website.

If you have any questions, please email: communications@a4hc.ca or call: (780) 944-4687 ext. 234

Sincerely,
Michelle Luyimbazi
Communications Coordinator
Action for Healthy Communities